Skip to main content

IT Governance Educational Technology Advisory Committee

The IT Educational Technology Advisory Committee is an IT Governance advisory committee co-chaired by a senior member of the Office of the Provost and a senior member of Northwestern IT. It provides oversight and sets priorities for the use of educational technologies that support the learning and teaching environments at Northwestern.

The committee gathers information about how educational technology can enhance instruction, evaluates that information, and makes recommendations to the IT Governance Executive Committee.

Content and deliverables related to the Committee’s strategic initiatives can be found by visiting Northwestern’s Digital Learning website.  


A senior member of the Office of the Provost and a senior member of Northwestern IT serve as co-chairs. The representatives for the University schools and business units on the committee are appointed by a dean or vice president for a two-year term. The co-chair may appoint ad hoc committees as appropriate.


  1. To develop and oversee direction, strategies, and plans for meaningful and innovative use of technologies which effectively evolve, enable, and support learning and teaching across the University.
  2. To identify opportunities for solutions that are broadly beneficial and/or specialized solutions/approaches that might be leveraged in multiple disciplines or areas, and make recommendations to the IT Governance Executive Committee regarding development, funding, and policy.


  1. Identify, on an on-going basis, opportunities for improvement or innovation in teaching and learning that can be enabled by educational technologies.
  2. Provide a forum where faculties and schools can share their experiences in the use of teaching and learning technologies.
  3. Craft a common vision for institutional teaching and learning systems and services which can provide broad campus benefit.
  4. Oversee the development of policies regarding the use of educational technologies, in collaboration with other academic policy committees.
  5. Oversee the identification, selection, adoption, and deployment of major educational technologies at the institutional level.
  6. Provide ongoing guidance and recommendations regarding any significant issues that may arise with the use of educational technologies by students and faculty.
  7. Provide recommendations to the University’s space planning processes regarding educational technology requirements in classrooms and other learning spaces.
  8. Provide direction to prevent, where appropriate, unnecessary redundancy or non-sustainable service implementations and their resulting inefficiencies and risks.

Operating Principles

Meetings are held monthly, or as determined by the committee.


Last Updated: 10 October 2018

Get Help Back to top