Skip to main content

After the Migration


illustration of a box on a dolly Moving In

Find what you need to know and understand the steps to take after your Box content is successfully moved.

Box individual account content will have moved to OneDrive. Box Organizational accounts (an account owned by a department, unit, or group) will have moved to SharePoint. You will receive an email from Northwestern IT confirming that your migration is complete.

Your Box content is now set to read-only, meaning you can still view but cannot edit, add, or own new content. Learn more about the read-only mode. Content in Box will remain read-only for four weeks from your migration date. After this time, it will be deleted and no longer viewable. You will receive emails to remind you of this activity.

About Shared Files

During your migration, files and folders for which you are the owner will be moved. After the migration, if you do not see a folder in your OneDrive or SharePoint account that you expect to see, it may be because someone else at Northwestern owns the folder and has shared it with you. That shared folder in OneDrive or SharePoint will become visible to you when its owner is migrated. Until that time, you can continue to view its contents in Box.

Learn More

Learn about the benefits of using Microsoft OneDrive and SharePoint and what these collaborative cloud services can do for you.

Support

If you experience issues accessing your files or folders after the move to OneDrive and SharePoint, please contact your school or department IT support.

Students, faculty, staff, and affiliates not supported directly by a school or department should contact the IT Service Desk at BOX-Migration@northwestern.edu or 847-491-4357 (1-HELP).

Last Updated: 2 December 2021

Get Help Back to top